Comanche County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Comanche County

Comanche County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Comanche County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1901
County Seat Lawton
Courthouse
Comanche County Oklahoma courthouse.jpg
Address Comanche County Courthouse
305 SW 5th Street
Lawton, Oklahoma 73501
Phone: 580.355-5214


Comanche County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
{{{link}}}

County Information

Comanche County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1906 1901 1907 1893 1901

County Courthouse

Comanche County Courthouse
305 SW 5th Street
Lawton, OK 73501;
Phone: 580.355-5214 

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1901[1]

History

Parent County

1901--Comanche County was created in 1901 from Kiowa-Comanche-Apache and Wichita-Caddo lands.
County seat: Lawton [2]

Description

Named for the Comanche tribe, Comanche County lies within the Wichita Mountains region and the Red Bed Plains. The county seat of Lawton were created on that day. In 1907 was founded.[3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [4]

    • Bethel
  • Cache
  • Chattanooga
  • Elgin
  • Faxon
  • Fletcher
  • Geronimo
  • Indiahoma
  • Lawton (county seat)
  • Medicine Park
  • Meers
  • Pumpkin Center
  • Sterling

Neighboring Counties

Resources

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Cemeteries

  • Alphabetical Inventories of Indian Cemeteries in Comanche County, Oklahoma. By Kenneth and Barbara Goodin, and Polly Lewis Murphy.FHL book 970.1 G619a WorldCat
  • Deyo Mission and Cemetery, Comanche County, Oklahoma. Transcribed by Larry S. Watson, 1976. The Journal of American Indian Family Research, Vol. 7 No. 1 (1986) FHL 970.1 J825j  page 1-27
Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
OKGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Oklahoma Gravestones
Oklahoma Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 41,489
1920 26,629 −35.8%
1930 34,317 28.9%
1940 38,988 13.6%
1950 55,165 41.5%
1960 90,803 64.6%
1970 108,144 19.1%
1980 112,456 4.0%
1990 111,486 −0.9%
2000 114,996 3.1%
2010 124,098 7.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Comanche County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records

Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Comanche County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps

Okcomanche.jpg

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI
WWII

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Comanche County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Lawton newspapers that covered local news on Comanche County residents. This database is free at some libraries.

Probate

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Comanche - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Births

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriages

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Deaths

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorces

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

Southwest Oklahoma Genealogical Society
PO Box 148
Lawton, OK 73502



Lawton Public Library has an excellent genealogical collection for southwestern Oklahoma.

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Comanche County, Oklahoma. Page 558 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/oka/comanche/
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Comanche County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comanche_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 5 August 2016.