Compton Abbas West, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Compton Abbas West, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Compton Abbas West, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Compton Abbas West, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cerne, Totcombe and Modbury
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Dorchester
Registration District Dorchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1745
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridport
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

COMPTON-ABBAS (West), a parish in Dorchester district, Dorset; 3½ miles SW of Maiden-Newton r. station, and 7 ENE of Bridport.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Compton Abbas West, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1748
1539
.
Indexes 1748-1879 Ancestry[2] 1539-1652 findmypast[3]
1651-1775 findmypast[4]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241338.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 05 July 2103.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  3. 'Dorset Marriages,' Find My Past, accessed 28 July 2012.
  4. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012. Described as 'West Compton, Dorset.'