Concow Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png California Gotoarrow.png Indians of California Gotoarrow.png Concow Indians

Guide to Concow Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Tribal Headquarters

Lake-Pomo-gathering-tules-B.jpg
Konkow Valley Band of Maidu
1185 18th Street
Oroville, CA 95965

History

Brief Timeline

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

The Konkow Valley Band of the Maidu Indians have an excellent history posted on their website.

Reservations

Round Valley Reservation

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:


Allotment Records

Allotment Register, 1894. compiled by Jimmy B. Parker. Research Department. The Genealogical Society. May 1972. FHL film: 897337 item 5 or FHL Book 970.1 M28pj

Census

1910 census of the Concow Indians of Round Valley -- transcribed copy

Compiled Genealogy

A compiled list of some of the descendants of Konkow Indians on the 1928 California Census Roll is available online. There are also examples of the application for the 1928 Roll online.

Websites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References