Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation, Montana

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Canada Gotoarrow.png United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png British Columbia Gotoarrow.png Idaho Gotoarrow.png Montana Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Washington Gotoarrow.png First Nations of British Columbia Gotoarrow.png Indians of Idaho Gotoarrow.png Indians of Montana Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oregon Gotoarrow.png Indians of Washington Gotoarrow.png Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation, Montana

Guide to Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

{{#if: Salish, Kootenai|
Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservations, Montana
Salish-men-4th of July- at Flathead Reservation, Montana1903.jpg
Population
1990 10,246 
1930 abt. 9,000 

Regions with significant populations
Ancestral Homelands: Montana, Idaho, Oregon, Washington and Canada

Descendants:
Flathead Reservation in Montana, formerly the Jocko Reservation.

Status

Federally recognized

Linguistic Group

not yet researched

Cultural Group

not yet researched

Other Related Ethnic Groups

Salish, Kootenai

Tribal Headquarters

Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation
P. O. Box 278
Pablo, MT 59855
Phone: 1.406.675.2700
Fax: 1.406.675.2806
Website: www.cskt.org

History

The year 1935 marks the formation of the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation, Montana.

Brief Timeline

  • 1891: forced removal of last few tribal members from the Bitterroot Valley to the Flathead Reservation
  • 1935: The Salish and Kootenai tribes of Montana joined to become The Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes
  • 1969: The Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation began prohibiting the hunting or killing of mountain sheep.
  • 1973: The Confederated Salish and Kootenai tribes of the Flathead Reservation amended some land ordinances

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

For history of the Salish before 1935 see: Salish Indians

For history of the Kootenai before 1935 see: Kootenai Indians

Reservations

These tribes are primarily associated with the Flathead Reservation in Montana. the Flathead Reservation was once the Jocko Reservation.

Enrolled Tribal Members

Approximately 7000 tribal members in 2009.[1]

Tribes That Are Part of the Confederated Salish Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Reservation

The Flathead Nation is a confederation of the Bitterroot Salish, Kootenai and Pend d'Oreilles Tribes. The Bella Coola, Flathead, Kalispel, Kootenai, and Palouse are considered to be part of the larger Salish Tribe.

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Agency Records

The following agencies of the Bureau of Indian Affairs had jurisdiction over the Crow for the time periods indicated. BIA agencies were responsible to keep such records as census rolls, allotment (land) records, annuity rolls, school records, correspondence, and other records of individual Indians under their jurisdiction. For details, see the page for the respective agency.

Flathead Agency, 1854-1935

Confederated Salish & Kootenai Agency, 1935-present

Land Records

Flathead Allotment Records, 1889 -- List of those signing consents for land transfer.

Montana Flathead Land Patents, 1908 -- Abstracts of names beginning A-D

Websites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References

  1. Montana Official State Travel Information Site, Flathead Reservation