Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation, Washington

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Washington Gotoarrow.png Indians of Washington Gotoarrow.png Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation, Washington

Guide to Colville Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Palouse (Palus)-Colville-family.jpg

Tribal Headquarters

History

Brief Timeline

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

A history of the Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation is available on the tribal website.

Reservations

These tribes are primarily associated with the Colville Reservation in Washington.

Tribes That Are Part of the Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation

The Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reserevation are comprised of descendants of the following tribes, as known in English -- the Colville, the Nespelem, the Sanpoil, the Lake (Sinixt), the Palus, the Wenatchi, the Chelan, the Entiat, the Methow, the southern Okanagan, the Sinkiuse-Columbia, and the Nez Perce of Chief Joseph's Band. Some members of the Spokane tribe also settled on the Colville reservation later.

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References