Congleton Congleton Chapel, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png  Congleton Chapel

CONGLETON, is an incorporated market-town, a chapelry, and the head of a union, in the parish of Astbury, having a separate jurisdiction, it is locally in the hundred of Northwich, S. division of the county of Chester. The chapel, dedicated to St. Peter. At Congleton Moss, a church was dedicated to the Holy Trinity it was erected in 1845. Two districts or ecclesiastical parishes have been formed under Sir Robert Peel's act: in the one, St. Stephen's district, a chapel has been purchased from the dissenters, in the other, St. James', a church. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyans, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics[1]

Congleton St Stephen was formed as separate parish in 1845 from Congleton St Peter and formed at similar period to St James.

St. Stephen's church consists of nave, chancel, aisles, bell-turret, and vestry, in the early decorated style, and was built in 1860.


Church Records

Congleton St Stephen's chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Congleton St Stephen's Chapelry Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1844-1909

Title Parish registers of St. Stephen's Church, Congleton, 1844-1958 
An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search

St. Stephen's Church is one of three chapelries in Congleton township. The township is in Astbury Ancient parish.
Cheshire Record Office call number: P 232/1/2. 

Content Film
Baptisms, 1844-1860, 1896-1936 (filmed twice). Marriages, 1860-1926. FHL BRITISH Film
Baptisms, 1860-1896. FHL BRITISH Film
2326898 Item 2
Baptisms, 1860-1896 (another filming). FHL BRITISH Film
2356823 Item 3
Marriages, 1926-1958. Burials, 1860-1932. FHL BRITISH Film
2197434 Items 1 - 4

Non-Conformist Churches

Refer to Congleton St Peter page. 

Non-Conformist Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241249.

Poor Law Unions

  • Congleton

Registration Districts

  •  Congleton (1837–1937)
  •  Macclesfield (1937–74)
  •  Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  •  South Cheshire (1988–98)
  •  Cheshire East (post 1998)

Registration events may be searched online at Cheshire BMD



  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), adapted 18 Jan 2013

Title History of Congleton: published to celebrate the 700th anniversary of the granting of the charter to the town
Congleton History Society
Authors W. B. Stephens, Congleton History Society
Editor W. B. Stephens
Publisher Manchester University Press ND, 1970
ISBN 0719012457, 9780719012457

Please expand this article if you have more information about this chapel.