Democratic Republic of the Congo Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Democratic Republic of the Congo

Democratic Republic of the Congo Wiki Topics
Flag of Djibouti.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Democratic Republic of the Congo Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Democratic Republic of the Congo ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

The Democratic Republic of the Congo is a country in Africa bordered by the Republic of the Congo, the Central African Republic, South Sudan, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Tanzania, Zambia, and Angola. It was formerly known as Zaire and a colony of Belgium. The official language is French.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Democratic Republic of the Congo Research

Links to articles on getting started with Democratic Republic of the Congo research.

Democratic Republic of the Congo Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Democratic Republic of the Congo research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Democratic Republic of the Congo Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Prov-Congo-Kinshasa - 2006.fr.png


Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Provinces:

  • Bas-Uele
  • Équateur
  • Haut-Katanga
  • Haut-Lomami
  • Haut-Uele
  • Ituri
  • Kasaï
  • Kasai-Central
  • Kasai-oriental
  • Kinshasa
  • Kongo Central
  • Kwango
  • Kwilu
  • Lomami
  • Lualaba
  • Mai-Ndombe
  • Maniema
  • Mongala
  • North Kivu
  • Nord-Ubangi
  • Sankuru
  • South Kivu
  • Sud-Ubangi
  • Tanganyika
  • Tshopo
  • Tshuapa

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Democratic Republic of the Congo," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Democratic_Republic_of_the_Congo, accessed 3 May 2016.