Connah's Quay, Flintshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Connah's Quay, Flintshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

WalesGotoarrow.pngFlintshireGotoarrow.pngConnah's Quay

A guide to genealogy in Connah's Quay, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Connah's Quay (Welsh: Cei Connah) is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in the estuary of the River Dee in Flintshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Flintshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Clwyd. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Flintshire.

History

"CONNAH'S-QUAY, a sea-port village and a chapelry, in Northop parish, Flint. The village stands on the estuary of the Dee, at the terminus of the Buckley railway, adjacent to the Chester and Holyhead railway, 3 miles SE of Flint; and has a post office‡ under Flint. The chapelry was constituted in 1844. Pop., 1, 422. Houses, 314." [Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72, John Marius Wilson]

For more information on Connah's Quay see: Genuki - Connah's Quay

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Flintshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Clwyd
from 1 April 1996 Flintshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • findmypast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.



Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites