Consolidated Chippewa Indian Agency (Minnesota)
United States American Indians Minnesota Indians of Minnesota Consolidated Chippewa Indian Agency (Minnesota) Guide to Consolidated Chippewa Indian Agency (Minnesota) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency
The Consolidated Chippewa Agency was established 1 July 1922 to serve the Chippewa Indians formerly of the White Earth and Leech Lake Agencies and some from the Red Lake Agency. The White Earth and Leech Lake Agencies were abolished at the time of this consolidation. The Red Lake continued to be responsible for the Red Lake Chippewa, but the Bois Fort Chippewa and the Indians of the Fond du Lac andGrand Portage Reservations were assigned to the new Consolidated Chippewa Agency.
In December 1954, the Consolidated Chippewa Agency and the Red Lake Agency were merged to form the Minnesota Agency. In 1964, the Red Lake Agency again became independent, but the name Minnesota Agency was retained for the former Consolidated Chippewa Agency.
Agencies and subagencies were created as administrative offices of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and its predecessors. Their purpose was (and is) to manage Indian affairs with the tribes, to enforce policies, and to assist in maintaining the peace. The names and location of these agencies may have changed, but their purpose remained basically the same. Many of the records of genealogical value (for the tribe and tribal members) were created by and maintained by the agencies.
Many records for the Consolidated Chippewa Agency are in the Central Plains Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Kansas City and the Great Lakes Regional Archives of NARA in Chicago.
Those in Kansas City include:
- Census records, 1889-1940 (obviously including some from predecessor agencies)
- Birth and death correspondence, 1922-1953
- Claims case files, 1923-1950
- Education records, 1923-1961, including school records of enrollments, census cards, etc.
- Social service case files, 1927-1943
- Personnel records, 1931-1955
- Supplemental census records, 1936-1942
- A reservation census, 1961
- Many administrative and financial records
- Some records from the Leech Lake Agency and the White Earth Agency, 1897-1935
Those in Chicago include:
- Records of Field Clerks at White Earth and Leech Lake, 1919-1935
- Grand Portage Day school Records, 1913-1921
Microfilm copies of ...Narrative and Statistical Reports... for the Consolidated Chippewa Agency, 1923-1935, are included in National Archives Microcopy M1011, rolls 27-28, available in the National Archives system and in the collections of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City (their microfilm numbers 1724245-1724246).
Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1923 thru 1939. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, rolls 57-76. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm numbers 574216-574231 and 5757659-575768). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.
Records Available through the Family History Library
Agency Records, 1876-1953.(Census, Annuity, Allotment, School)FHL film: 1294364 first film
Agency Vital Records (Census Supplement)
1924-1932 Births and Deaths FHL film: 574229
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, pp. 155-156.
- Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. Available online.
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1011, p.27.
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy 595, p. 51
- American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
- Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
- Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
- Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
- Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online
- "Accompanying Pamphlet for Microcopy 1011", National Archives Microfilm Publications, Appendix.
- Marquette University. Guide to Catholic-Related Records in the Midwest about Native Americans.