Cook County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cook County, Georgia)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Cook County

Guide to Cook County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Cook County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Cook County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded July 30, 1918
County Seat Adel
Courthouse
Address Cook County Courthouse
212 N Hutchinson Avenue
Adel, GA 31620
Phone: 912.896.2266
Cook County Website


County Information

Cook County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Cook County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1919
1919
1918
1920
1919
1919


County Courthouse

Cook County Courthouse
212 N Hutchinson Avenue
Adel, GA 31620
Phone: 912.896.2266
Cook County Courthouse

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, land and court records from 1919; Probate Court has birth, marriage and death records from 1918.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
212 N. Hutchinson Ave.
Adel, GA 31620
Phone: (229) 896-7717

Probate Court of Cook County
212 North Hutchinson Avenue
Adel, GA 31620
Phone: 229-896-3941

History

Parent County

1918--Cook County was created 30 July 1918 from Berrien County.  County seat:  Adel [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Berrien County  • Brooks County  • Colquitt County  • Lowndes County  • Tift County


Cook CountyBerrien CountyIrwin CountyTift CountyWorth CountyMitchell CountyColquitt CountyThomas CountyBrooks CountyLowndes CountyEchols CountyLanier CountyClinch CountyAtkinson CountyWare CountyCoffee CountyDougherty CountyLowndes CountyGACook.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Georgia Interment
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cook County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Parrish, June Jackson. The History of Cook County, Georgia and Its Municipalities. Adel Ga.? : s.n.,: unknown, 1967?. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps

Gacook.jpg

Military

  • Georgia Military - USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cook County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital records are available from 1919.

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Death Records
Marriage Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Cook County Historical Society Museum & Genealogical Library
115 E. Fourth St.
Adel, GA 31620
229-896-2417 | 229-896-4360

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cook County, Georgia. Page 153 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 24. At various libraries (WorldCat).