Cook Islands Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cook Islands)
Jump to: navigation, search

Pacific Gotoarrow.png Cook Islands

Cook Islands Wiki Topics
Flag of the Cook Islands.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Cook Islands Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to Cook Islands ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information

The Cook Islands are an island country in free association with New Zealand in the Pacific Ocean whose nearest neighbors are French Polynesia, Niue, American Samoa, and Samoa. They were formerly a British protectorate. The official languages are English and Cook Islands Māori.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Cook Islands Research

Links to articles on getting started with Cook Islands research.

Cook Islands Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Cook Islands research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Cook Islands Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Cook Islands.

Map of Cook Islands.png


Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Cook Islands. Islands:

  • Aitutaki
  • Atiu
  • Mangaia
  • Mangarongaro
  • Manihiki
  • Mauke
  • Mitiaro
  • Nassau
  • Palmerston
  • Penrhyn
  • Pukapuka
  • Rakahanga
  • Rarotonga
  • Suwarrow
  • Tongareva
  • Wytootachee

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Cook Islands," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cook_Islands, accessed 3 May 2016.