Cookley, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cookley, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Worcestershire
Worcestershire Parishes
Cookley

Guide to Cookley, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cookley, Worcestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswaldslow
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Kidderminster
Registration District Kidderminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: 1849
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

COOKLEY, a hamlet in the parish of Wolverley, union of Kidderminster, Lower division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, Kidderminster and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, 3 miles (N. by E.) from Kidderminster. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464212.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 05 October 2013.

Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.