Cooper County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cooper County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Cooper County

Guide to Cooper County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Cooper County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 17, 1818
County Seat Boonville
Courthouse
MissouriCooperCourthouse.jpg
Address Cooper County Courthouse
200 Main Street
PO Box 123
Boonville, MO 65233-0123
Phone: 660.882.2626
Cooper County Website


County Information

Cooper County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1819 1883 1830 1819 1819

County Court House


County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1893 and burial records; Circuit Clerk has marriage, divorce, court and naturalization records from 1819, and land records from 1812; Associate Circuit Court has probate record from 1828.[2]

History

Parent County

1818 Cooper County was created 17 December 1818 from Howard County. County seat: Boonville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Boone  • Howard  • Moniteau  • Morgan  • Pettis  • Saline

Cooper CountyMonroe CountyRandolph CountyLafayette CountyCarroll CountyChariton CountySaline CountyHoward CountyBoone CountyAudrain CountyCallaway CountyMaries CountyOsage CountyMiller CountyMorgan CountyMoniteau CountyHenry CountyJohnson CountyCole CountySt. Clair CountyBenton CountyCamden CountyPettis CountyMOCooper.jpg



Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MNGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Cooper County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

St. Peter and Paul, Boonville

  • 1850 - 1876 St. Peter and Paul, Boonville, Baptism Index 1850-1876. Batch C511771 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1851 - 1876 St. Peter and Paul, Boonville, Marriage Index 1851-1857, 1867-1876. Batch M511771 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Cooper County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A history of Cooper County, Missouri from the first visit by white men, in February, 1804, to the fifth day of July, 1876 by Levens and Drake (1876) is available online free from Google Books.

  • National Historical Company. History of Howard and Cooper counties, Missouri : written and compiled from the most authentic official and private sources, including a history of its townships, towns, and villages : together with a condensed history of Missouri, a reliable and detailed history of Howard and Cooper counties-- its pioneer record, resources, biographical sketches of prominent citizens, general and local statistics of great value, incidents and reminiscences. St. Louis : National Historical Co., 1883.
  • Johnson, William Foreman. History of Cooper County, Missouri. Topeka, Kansas : Historical Pub. Co., 1919.
  • Melton, Elston Joseph. Melton's history of Cooper County, Missouri, an account from early times to the present. Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1987.
  • Barnes, J. B. Short historical sketches of Boonville and vicinity. Boonville, Mo. : [Boonville Advertiser?], 1928.

Maps

Mocooper.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Cooper County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Cooper County, Missouri:

- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 52nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Detached Company
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company A
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company B
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company F
- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Cooper County:

  • June 17, 1861 = Boonville[5] also known as First Battle of Boonville
  • Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Cooper County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

  • Boonslick Historical Society Of Cooper And Howard Counties
    P.O. Box 324
    Boonville, MO 65233

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Cooper County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Cooper County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Cooper Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Cooper County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Cooper County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Cooper County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cooper County, Missouri. Page 399 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 4.7 4.8 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
  5. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August 2012)