Copping Syke, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Copping Syke, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Copping Syke, Lincolnshirefamily history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Copping Syke, Lincolnshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Horncastle Soke; Kirton
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Boston
Registration District Boston
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Extra-Parochial Liberty History

COPPIN-SIKE, with Ferry-Corner, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Boston, wapentake of Kirton, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln. [1]


Civil Registration

The area was in the Sibsey sub-district of Boston registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

This was an extra parochial place for which no church records are found.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Copping Syke

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438752.

See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Boston Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 682-685. Date accessed: 14 August 2013.