Coquille Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Indians of Oregon Gotoarrow.png Coquille Indians

Guide to Coquille Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and other agency records.

Skokomish woman -Hleastunuh by Edward S Curtis Collection.jpg

Original homeland: along the Coquille River in Coos Bay, southern Oregon coast.

The Coquille Tribe is primarily associated with the state of Oregon[1].

Tribal Headquarters

Coquille Tribe
P. O. Box 783
North Bend, OR 97459-0061
Phone: 1.541.756.0904
Fax: 1.541.756.0847
Website: www.coquilletribe.org

History

Brief Timeline

1828: Jedediah Smith explores Oregon coast

1853: Gold discovered at Whiskey Run

1854: The Coquille village Nah-so-mah attact by miners

1855: Treaty - unratified

1856:  The Coquille removed to Coast Indian Reservation,

1954: United States terminates relation with the tribe 

1989: Coquille Restoration Act

Additional References to the History of the Tribe

Reservations

Coast Indian Reservation (becameSiletz and Grand Ronde Reservations)

Siletz Reservation

Grand Ronde Reservation

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Important Websites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References

  1. Indian Entities Recognized and Eligible To Receive Services From the United States Bureau of Indian Affairs, Federal Register, Vol. 67, No. 134, 12 July 2002 Available online