Corfe Mullen, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Corfe Mullen, Dorset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Dorset go to Dorset Parishes

Guide to Corfe Mullen, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Corfe Mullen, Dorset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cogdean
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wimborne and Cranborne
Registration District Wimborne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1651; For more records see Sturminster Marshall
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whitchurch
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Sturminster Marshall
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History

CORFE-MULLEN; a parish in Wimborne district, Dorset; on the Roman road from Poole, near the river Stour and the Southampton and Dorset railway, 2½ miles SW of Wimborne-Minster. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Corfe Mullen, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1650
1650
1650
Images
1650-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1929 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1813-1837 Joiner[6]

Corfe Mullen, Dorset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
Corfe Mullen, Dorset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1717-1742

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241340.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 05 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 June 2012.
  7. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.