Cortina Indian Rancheria (California)

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png California Gotoarrow.png Indians of California Gotoarrow.png Cortina Indian Rancheria (California)

Guide to Wintun Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Tribal Headquarters

Cortina Indian Rancheria of Wintun Indians
570 6th Street, Suite F.
Williams, CA 95987
Phone: 530.473.3274
Fax: 530.743.3301

The Cortina Rancheria is a federally-recognized rancheria located about 70 miles northwest of Sacramento in Colusa County, California.

Established -- June 25, 1907
Agency (BIA) -- Central California Agency
Principal tribes -- Wintun
Population -- about 79
Tribal enrollment -- 117

History

Brief Timeline

Brief History

Reservations

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Land Records

Tribe land 640 acres, the land is tribally-owned [1]

Web Sites

For Further Reading

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References

  1. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2