Cossall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Cossall, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Cossall St Catherine Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Basford|
|Parish registers: 1654; For more records see Wollaton|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
COSSAL (St. Catherine), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 6½ miles (W. N. W.) from Nottingham.
Cossall St Catherine church dates from the rebuilding of a former 13th century church on the same site which grew from an original chapelry in Wollaton, Nottinghamshire Ancient parish.
The church has been designated a grade II* listed building by English Heritage British listed building
The hamlet of Cossall is one mile east of Ilkeston, Derbyshire and the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with Derbyshire with its neighbour.
See also Cossall Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district
Cossall, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|COSSALL PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Cossall
Cossall - St Catherine's. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions both inside and outside the church dated from 1814, giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 21-26, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438904.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.