Costilla County, Colorado Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Costilla County, Colorado)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Colorado Gotoarrow.png Costilla County

Guide to Costilla County, Colorado ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}




Costilla County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Costilla County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 9, 1852
County Seat San Luis
Courthouse
Address Costilla County Courthouse
354 Main St PO Box 100
San Luis, CO 81152-0100
Phone: 719.672.3372
Costilla County Website


County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1853;
Clerk of the District Court has divorce, probate and court records.[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
*
1863[2]*
1902-1907[2]*

1861[2]
1876[2]
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

San Luis [1]

Parent County

  • Before 1861 this modern Colorado county was in New Mexico.
Look for pre-1861 records in New Mexico. For further explanation see Taos County.
  • 1861 November 1: Costilla County was created as an original county.

Places

Neighboring Counties

Cocostilla.jpg

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
COGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
COGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Colorado Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Colorado Cemeteries for more information.
The History of Costilla County as Revealed by its Cemeteries

By Hazel Bean Petty, August 1971 

70 pages on different settlements and cemeteries. A Thesis presented to Graduate School Adams State College 

Available at Family History Center, Alamosa, CO

Census

For tips on accessing Costilla County, Colorado Genealogy census records online, see: Colorado Census.


  • 1860-1940 Colorado Census Records from 1860 to 1940 at FamilySearch.org — index/images

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Barnum
  • Crestmoor (Denver)
  • Dale E.
  • Denver
  • Denver 1
  • Denver 2
  • Denver N.
  • East Dale

Court Records

Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. To use this link scroll down the page to where it asks for Record Type. Click there and scroll down the list to the records you want and select. The next field asks for county. Select the county you want and then click on Search. You can narrow the search by adding the additional information it asks for.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for Costilla County, Colorado Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Costilla County, Colorado Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Poor Records

1890-1932 The Colorado State Archives has put an Index to the Costilla County Poor Records, 1890-1932 on-line.

Probate Records

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


Online Records

Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Costilla County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
1880-1939 Divorce Index
1883-1900 Mine Accidents, Non - fatal
1897-1920 Horseshoers
1936-1942 Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments
1966-1968 Vietnam Deaths


1876-1914 Costilla County Probate Record
1890-1932 Costilla County Poor Record
1917-1932 Costilla County Teacher Exams

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Libraries

Costilla County Public Library
PO Box 351
418 Gasper Street
San Luis, CO 81152
Phone: (719) 672-3309
Costilla Co. Library

Museums
Societies

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records Search

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [7]

Marriage

Online Records

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [7]

Divorce

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 98, Costilla County, Colorado. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 92.
  3. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987), 52. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  4. Brief County Histories (New Mexico) in RootsWeb (accessed 21 June 2012).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopeida at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colorado_Territory (accessed 19 June 2012).
  6. Adrian B. Ettlinger, AniMap 3.0 : with SiteFinder U.S. place name database (Alamo, Calif.: Gold Bug, 2008), Colorado 1861 map. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL CD-ROM no. 4903.
  7. 7.0 7.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov