Cotes Heath, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Cotes Heath, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Cotes Heath, Staffordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Stone|
|Parish registers: 1844|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1844|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Eccleshall|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Cotes Heath St James was formed as a district church from Eccleshall, Staffordshire in 1844.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Cotes Heath St James was formed from Eccleshall, Staffordshire parish in 1844
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1845-1995 Mar 1846-1996 Bur 1844-1992
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1844-1868 Mar 1846-1856 Bur 1844-1868 Missing Bap/Mar/Bur 1869-1873
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 693-696. Date accessed: 30 October 2012.