Cottam, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Cottam, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1695; For more records see South Leverton|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
COTTAM, a chapelry, in the parish of South Leverton, union of East Retford, North-Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 8 miles (E. by S.) from East Retford. 
Cottam ecclesiastical boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbourTorksey, Lincolnshire on the opposite bank of the River Trent.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Cottam, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Cottam, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Parish Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Cottam
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..