County Donegal, Ireland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from County Donegal)
Jump to: navigation, search

United Kingdom Gotoarrow.png Ireland Gotoarrow.png Northern Ireland Gotoarrow.png Counties of Ireland Gotoarrow.png County Donegal

Ireland Wiki Topics
Flag of Ireland.png
Beginning Research
County Donegal
Wiki Topics
Ireland Record Types
Ireland Background
Ireland Ethnicity
Ireland Local Research Resources

Guide to County Donegal, Ireland Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

County Donegal.jpg
<

County Donegal (Irish: Contae Dhún na nGall) is a county in Ireland. It is in the province of Ulster and is the most north-westerly county of Ireland.

General County Research Information

Further information about County Donegal is available at the GenUKI site.

Civil Jurisdictions and Parish Research Information

Occupations

Collected by Folliott, Rosemary.  Game Licences in North-West Ulster in 1802. Continuing list of Game Certificated printed originally in the Londonderry Journal of 24 Aug. 1802, covering Londonderry, and Co. Donegal. Article in The Irish Ancestor, vol.VIII, no. 2. 1976, pages 84-86, Family History Library Ref. 941.5 B2i v7-8.

Census Substitutes

A Muster Rolle of ye Province of Ulster, dated 1630, serves as a census substitute. An abstract is available for free online:

  • Mervine, William M. "The Scotch Settlers in Raphoe, County Donegal, Ireland: A Contribution to Pennsylvania Genealogy," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 36 (1912):257-272. digital version at Internet Archive - free.

Land and Property

Web Sites

Links to articles, subcategories and images under the Category County Donegal, Ireland Genealogy

References