Coventry St Thomas, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WarwickshireGotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

Coventry St Thomas, Warwickshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coventry
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Coventry
Registration District Coventry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1734
Bishop's Transcripts: 1752
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Coventry
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

Coventry, is an ancient city, in the hundred of Knightlow, Warwickshire, it is 10 miles N E from Warwick, 18 miles S E from Birmingham, it contains the hamlets of Radford, Whitley, and Keresley. The church district named St. Thomas' was formed out of the parish of St. John, in 1844. There are places of worship in the town for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics.[1] Additional information:

Coventry St Thomas Albany Road Coventry was an ecclesiastical parish.

The church was designed by the Lancaster architects Sharpe and Paley, and was built in 1848–49. Its architectural style was Decorated, and its plan consisted of a nave with a clerestory, north and south aisles, a chancel with vestries, a north porch, and a northwest bell turret. The church was redundant by the 1970's and was demolished in 1976. It was designated Grade II listed building by English Heritage.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Coventry St Thomas, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Coventry St Thomas, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1825-1910 1825-1910 1825-1910 1825-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464186.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848).] Adapted. Accessed November 19, 2013.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 26 August 2014.