Cranwell, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cranwell, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Cranwell

Guide to Cranwell, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Cranwell, Lincolnshire
Cranwell St Andrew Lincolnshire.jpg
Cranwell St Andrew Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Flaxwell
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aswardhurn with Lafford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

CRANWELL (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Sleaford, hundred of Flaxwell, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 4 miles (N. W.) from Sleaford.  A Primitive Methodist and Wesleyan Methodist chapel were also in the village. [1]

The civil parish of Cranwell and Byard's Leap is under four miles from Sleaford and includes RAF Cranwell which is the Royal Air Force College Cranwell. The airfields (the older Northern airfield dates from 1917) and is for light aircraft and gliders whilst the Southern paved runways is used for fast jets and the two paved runways were introduced in 1954 to accommodate the Meteor and Vampire jet squadrons.

The churchyard of St Andrew contains over 200 Commonwealth War Graves Commission graves.

RAF graves Cranwell Lincolnshire.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Leadenham sub-district of Sleaford registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Cranwell Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Cranwell

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Cranwell/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 717-720. Date accessed: 14 August 2013.