Craven County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Craven County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Craven County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
|County Seat||New Bern|
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Cemeteries
- 4.3 Census
- 4.4 Church Records
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Ethnic and Religious Groups
- 4.7 Land
- 4.8 Local Histories
- 4.9 Maps
- 4.10 Migration
- 4.11 Military
- 4.12 Newspapers
- 4.13 Probate
- 4.14 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Web Sites
- 7 References
Craven County Courthouse
406 Craven Street
New Bern, North Carolina 28560
Register of Deed has birth and death from 1914
Marriage and land records from 1700
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1915;
City Clerk has burial records
For wills and estate records contact:
Craven County Clerk of Court
302 Broad Street
New Bern, NC 28560
For Vital Records (births, deaths, marriages) and Land Records contact:
1.) Craven County one of three counties (Albemarle and Clarendon being the others) set up in 1664 by the Lords Proprietors of Carolina. Its territory embraced what later became South Carolina. 2.) Craven County was established in 1705 as Archdale Precinct of Bath County, although there is evidence that an Archdale County existed as early as 1696. The name was changed to Craven County about 1712. 3.) Craven County included the Ashley River settlement known as Charles Town (Charleston, South Carolina).
1705--Craven County was created 3 December 1705 from the Archdale Precinct of Bath County. Bath County was abolished in 1739.
County seat: New Bern 
1722--Carteret County was formed from Craven in 1722, with several boundary changes through the 1880s.
1729--New Hanover County was formed from Craven in 1729.
1746--Johnston County was formed from Craven in 1746.
1757--Part of Beaufort County was annexed to Craven in 1757 and 1801.
1764--Part of Craven was annexed to Dobbs County in 1764.
1778--Jones County was formed from Craven in 1778.
1787--Parts of Craven were annexed to Pitt County in 1787; Lenoir County in 1798, 1804 and 1819; and Greene County in 1801.
1872--Pamlico County was formed from parts of Craven and Beaufort Counties in 1872, and part of Craven was annexed to Pamlico in 1875.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
1712 Records destroyed in Tuscarora War
- Bridgeton (2001 population: 201)
- Cove City (2001 population: 425)
- Dover (2001 population: 443)
- Havelock (2001 population: 22,463)
- New Bern (2001 population: 23,415)
- River Bend (2001 population: 2,918)
- Trent Woods (2001 population: 4,186)
- Vanceboro (2001 population: 892)
Mobley, Joe A. James City, A Black Community in North Carolina, 1863-1900. -Raleigh: North Carolina Dept. of Cultural Resources, Division of Archives and History, 1981. FHL 975.6192/J1 H2m
- Craven County African American resources - via the Craven County Public Library
- Craven County cemetery information - on the Craven County NCGenWeb site
- Craven County cemetery transcriptions - via the NCGenWeb Archives
- Craven County cemeteries - at Find-A-Grave.com
- Book: Craven County, North Carolina cemeteries by the Eastern NC Genealogical Society - view the index to Volume 2 to see if your persons of interest are listed
- Hardison/Wetherington Family Cemetery, Jasper BillionGraves
- Asbury Church Cemetery BillionGraves. Between Cove City and Route 55.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- Craven County census records - via Craven County NCGenWeb
For tips on accessing Craven County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Craven County church records - via the NCGenWeb Archives
- Coor Creek. Constituted 1792.
- Goose Creek. Established 1784.
- Neuse River. Established by 1784.
- Swift Creek. Established 1756. Edwards published a membership list dated 1756 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 148-149.
Church of England
- Craven Parish, New Bern, N.C. Later called Christ Church Parish. Established 1715. Official website.
- Craven County court records - various transcriptions from the NCGenWeb Archives
Ethnic and Religious Groups
- Deeds of Craven County - via the NCGenWeb Archives
- Craven County maps - more than 40 maps from the North Carolina State Library's NC Maps website
Early migration routes to and from Craven County for European settlers included:
- Craven County military records - via the NCGenWeb Archives
- 1861-1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861-1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1885-1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — images
Regiments. Service men in Craven County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Craven County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- -2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- -5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Artillery 10th Regiment Volunteers-1st Artillery, Company B
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Artillery 10th Regiment Volunteers-1st Artillery, Company I
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company K
- - 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, 1st Company H
- - 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, 1st Company K
- - 41st Regiment Volunteers - 3rd Cavalry, Company E
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company D
- - 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company F
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Craven County:
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
The first newspaper in North Carolina was published in New Bern, N.C., by James Davis in 1751. The North Carolina State Archives has microfilmed copies of many New Bern newspapers. A list of North Carolina Newspapers, including Craven County can be found at the North Carolina Newspaper Index page of the North Carolina Newspaper Project. Craven County newspapers begin on page 37 of the index.
- The New Bern-Craven County Public Library also has a list of many New Bern newspapers based on the above list from the North Carolina Newspaper Project. That list is available at http://newbern.cpclib.org/research/newspapers.html.
- North Carolina Newspaper Digitization Project, North Carolina State Archives.Search full text historical newspapers published in New Bern.
- Craven County newspapers - a listing of newspapers published in the county; via the Library of Congress
Online Probate Records
- 1660 – 1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 North Carolina Estate Files 1663-1979 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1665 - 1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 – 1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Craven County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1736-1960 - Will Books A to N (1736-1960) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- 1700-1949 - Craven County North Carolina list of will book testators SAMPUBCO -Browsable index of testators of wills. - free
- Craven County Wills & Estate records - via the NCGenWeb USGenweb Archives - free
Birth and death records from 1913 can be found at the Register of Deeds Office for Craven County at 226 Pollock Street, New Bern, NC 28560. An online index is available at http://deeds.cravencounty.com/default.aspx. Uncertified copies can be ordered for a small fee. Please see Register of Deeds website for more information.
- North Carolina Births and Christenings, 1866-1964 - search this name index to birth, baptism and christening records from the state via FamilySearch
- 1800 - 2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1741-2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759-1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762–1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763-1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1799-1893 - Craven County marriages are included in Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searchable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
- Craven County Marriage Bonds at USGenWeb - free.
- 1858Marriage registers from 1858 to the present and marriage licenses from 1904 to the present are also available at the Register of Deeds Office. An online index to marriages from 1909 is available at http://deeds.cravencounty.com/default.aspx.
- 1892-1930 - Craven County Marriage Index 1892-1930 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- An index to obituaries listed in New Bern newspapers from 1751 to the present (not complete) is available at the Kellenberger Room of the New Bern-Craven County Public Library. The site for the obituaries is http://newbern.cpclib.org/research/obituary.html.
- Craven County deaths - list of county area deaths reported in various newspapers; dates range from late 1700s to 1900s.
- Craven County obituaries - transcribed for the NCGenWeb Archives
North Carolina Death Certificates, 1906-1930 - via FamilySearch; images included
- North Carolina Deaths & Burials, 1898-1994 - via FamilySearch
- 1898 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
Societies and Libraries
Craven County Genealogical Society
PO Box 1344
New Bern, NC 28563-1344
- Craven County Genealogical Society of North Carolina, Inc.
- New Bern Historical Society
- New Bern-Craven County Public Library; Kellenberger Room website: http://newbern.cpclib.org/research
- Godwin Memorial Library of Craven Community College
- Family History Society of Eastern North Carolina
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Craven County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Craven County NCGenWeb - free genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Craven County, North Carolina. Page 508 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- David L. Corbett, The Formation of the North Carolina Counties, 1663-1943 (Raleigh: State Dept. of Archives and History, 1950), 74-79.
- The Directory of Municipal Officials and Buyers' Guide, 2004 (Raleigh, N.C.: NC League of Municipalities, 2004).
- Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org.
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:317, 490. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772), 148. Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
- Lawrence Foushee London and Sarah McCulloh Lemmon, The Episcopal Church in North Carolina, 1701-1959 (Raleigh, N.C.: The Episcopal Diocese of North Carolina, 1987), 24. FHL Book 975.6 K2e; Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), 500. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr; "Christ Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.