Crawford County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Crawford County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Crawford County

Guide to Crawford County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Crawford County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Prairie du Chien
Courthouse
Address Crawford County Courthouse
220 N Beaumont Road;
Prairie du Chien, WI 53821-1405
Phone: 608.326.0200



{{{link}}}

WI Crawford.png

County Information

Crawford County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1858 1816 1820 1820 1819


County Courthouse

Crawford County Courthouse
220 N Beaumont Road;
Prairie du Chien, WI 53821-1405
Phone: 608.326.0200

County Clerk has birth records from 1866,
marriage records from 1820, death and burial
records from 1880, divorce and court records
from 1848 and probate records from 1819;
see Michigan for 1820-1830 census[1]

Places/Localities

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Allamakee, Iowa • Clayton, Iowa • Vernon • Richland • Grant

WI CRAWFORD.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WIGenWeb Archives
WITombstone Project
Interment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

State Census
  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Federal Census

Church

Lutheran

Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Soldier's Grove

  • Records of Our Savior's Lutheran Church, Soldier's Grove, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[2]

Prairie du Chien

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Prairie du Chien, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Wauzeka

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Wauzeka, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

City Directories

Court

Land

Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Crawford County Records (USGenWeb Archives)

Local Histories

Map

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Crawford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Crawford County.

- 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company M
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C
- 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company F
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K


World War I
World War II

Newspapers

Probate

Online Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Death Records
Marriages
Divorce Records

Societies and Libraries

Crawford County Historical Society
RFD 1, Box 17
Ferryville, WI 54628-9789
Telephone: 608-734-3192

Crawford County Historical Society
17933 State Highway 27 South
Mt. Sterling, WI, 54645-0072
Telephone: 608-734-3192
Website

The Lower Wisconsin River Genealogical and Historical Research Center
60401 Wachuta Rd
Prairie du Chien, WI 53821

Prairie du Chien Historical Society
202 S Wacouta Ave
Prairie du Chien, WI 53821
Telephone: 608-326-6321
Website

Area Research Center - University of Wisconsin-Platteville
Southwest Wisconsin Room-Karrmann Library
Platteville, WI 53818-3099
Telephone: 608-342-171
Website

Hauge Norwegian History Center
Jacob Vedvik
56302 County Rd B
Ferryville, 54628
Telephone: 608-734-3192
Hours: Open by appointment for genealogical research
Plan Your Visit: Town of Freeman - 2 miles West of Rising Sun on County Rd B


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 756 Dallas County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.