Crittenden County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Crittenden County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Crittenden County

Guide to Crittenden County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Crittenden County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Crittenden County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 22, 1825
County Seat Marion
Courthouse
ArkansasCrittendenCourthouse.jpg
Address Crittenden County Courthouse
100 Court Street
Marion, AR 72364
Phone: 870.739.4434


County Courthouse

Crittenden County Arkansas Courthouse.jpg

Crittenden County Courthouse
100 Court Street
Marion, AR 72364
Phone: 870.739.4434

County Clerk has marriage and probate records. Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, military and court records and County Assessor has land records.[1]

Beginning years for Crittenden County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1837 1914* 1826 1826 1839
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records


History

Parent County

  • 1825--Crittenden County was created 22 October 1825 from Phillips County. County seat: Marion [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1860s A few pages of the deed records and of the chancery court records were damaged or destroyed during the Reconstruction period following the American Civil War. Also, the tax books for the year 1878 are missing.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog: none as of 10/2014

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Cross  • DeSoto County, Mississippi  • Lee  • Mississippi  • Poinsett  • St. Francis  • Shelby County, Tennesse  • Tunica County, Mississippi

Poinsett CountyMississippi CountyTipton CountyShelby CountyDeSoto CountyTunica CountyCross CountyCrittenden CountSt. Francis CountyLee CountyARCrittenden 1.JPG
About this image


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Crittenden County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

  • Artifacts found in Crittenden County—including effigy pipes, stone ear plugs, and ornaments—testify to a long habitation of the area by Native Americans.
  • 1795 - Its first resident of note was a Spanish sergeant named Augustine Grande, who was the commander of Fort Esperanza, built by the Spanish on the west bank of the Mississippi River.
  • 1825 October 22 - Crittenden County was organized.
  • 1850 - Because of the county’s location, levees and drainage districts have been essential to its development
  • 1874 - Reconstruction in Arkansas had ended.
  • 1990 - Crittenden County had a population of 28,259; in that year, an estimated 2,000 people were employed in a variety of jobs by West Memphis processing and manufacturing industries.

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Online Crittenden County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Crittenden County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Court

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1826-1946 Crittenden County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian bonds and letters 1837-1919; Administration and guardian records 1853-1876; County Court records 1830-1852; Dockets 1857-1898; Probate records 1826-1889; Wills 1826-1946.

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Crittenden County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Crittenden County, Arkansas Genealogy:


- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), 2nd Company E
- 6th Battalion Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company C

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Crittenden County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Crittenden County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Crittenden County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Crittenden County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Crittenden County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Crittenden County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Grif Stockley, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=762&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 12, 2016), “Crittenden County.”
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.