Crook, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Crook, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Crook, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Crook, Durham
Crook Co Durham St Catherine.jpg
Crook Co Durham St Catherine
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Auckland
Registration District Auckland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1843
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

CROOK, with Billy-Row, a township, in the parish of Brancepeth, union of Auckland, N. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham.[1] Additional information: Crook St. Catherine was created in 1845 from the parish of Brancepeth, Durham St. Brandon.Parts of this parish became part of these parishes: Stanley [nr. Crook] St. Thomas Apostle and Martyr (1872); Sunnybrow St. John (1889) St. Catherine’s Church was built in 1841–3. In 1845 Crook was set up as a separate parish (originally as a parochial chapelry within the parish of Brancepeth, but by 1859 as a completely separate parish). .

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/68 Date: 1844-1848 related material at DULASC: Crook transcripts October-December 1843 are included with Brancepeth transcripts DDR/EA/PBT/2/40  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1843-2004-1979 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Cro).

Non Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Crook Our Lady Immaculate and St. Cuthbert Roman Catholic Church Parish Registers for the period 1853-1981 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall. Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Cro 1).

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352.


Poor Law Unions

Auckland Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Crook (see Brancepeth) on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 729-733. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.