Crosby County, Texas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Crosby County, Texas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Texas go to Counties C go to Crosby County

Guide to Crosby County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

TX ORP.png


Crosby County, Texas
Map
Map of Texas highlighting Crosby County
Location in the state of Texas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Texas
Location of Texas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 21 August, 1876
County Seat Crosbyton
Courthouse
TexasCrosbyCourthouse.jpg
Address Crosby County Courthouse
PO Box 218
Crosbyton, TX 79322
Adopt-a-wiki page
Hiddenancestorslogo.JPG This page adopted by:
Hidden Ancestors
who welcome you to contribute.
User:Evancol
Adopt a page today



County Information


County Courthouse

Crosby County Courthouse
PO Box 218
Crosbyton, TX 79322
Phone: 806.675.2334

County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, probate and court records from 1887 and
land records from 1886; District Clerk has divorce records[1]

County Clerk

201 W. Aspen Suite 102
Crosbyton 79322
Phone: 806-675-23347

District Clerk

201 W. Aspen Suite 207
Crosbyton 79322
Phone: 806-675-2071

Crosby County Courthouse History

Crosby County, Texas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1903 1886 1880 1887 1887


History

1877The first permanent settler arrived in 1877.

Parent County

1876--Crosby County was created 21 August 1876 from Bexar Land District.

  • County seats:
  1. 1886-1890- Estacado
  2. 1890-1910- Emma
  3. 1910-present- Crosbyton [2][3]

Three County Seats During History of County

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

1889--Crosby County Courthouse in Estacado caught fire on October 9, 1889 and destroyed the judges', treasurer's and county clerk's offices.[4]  The fire was contained and the courthouse was rebuilt.[5]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Cone | Crosbyton | Kalgary | Lorenzo | Ralls

Neighboring Counties

Dickens  • Floyd • Garza  • Hale  • Kent  • Lubbock  • Lynn  • Motley

Hale CountyFlord CountyMotley CountyLubbock CountyCrosby CountyDickens CountyLynn CountyGarza CountyKent countyTX Crosby.JPG
About this image

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb


Billion Graves

Billion Graves


Epodunk

Cemeteries of Texas



Names in Stone



See Texas Cemeteries for more information.
Additional Cemetery Sources
Early Day Burials
Early Cemeteries
City Cemeteries



  • [1] Crosby County Alphabetical Obituary and Burial Index ]

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
188082
1890346322.0%
1900788127.7%
19101,765124.0%
19206,084244.7%
193011,02381.2%
194010,046−8.9%
19509,582−4.6%
196010,3478.0%
19709,085−12.2%
19808,859−2.5%
19907,304−17.6%
20007,072−3.2%
20106,059−14.3%

Church

Court

Land

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.


Naturalization and Citizenship

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Crosby County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.

  • A History of Crosby County 1876-1977, A collection of historical sketches and family histories composed by County Residents; compiled by the staff of the Crosby County Pioneer Memorial Museum under the supervision and with the cooperation of the Crosby County Historical Commission, 1978. Read the book online at The Portal to Texas History.
  • Through the Years: A History of Crosby County, 1952, by Nellie Witt Spikes and Temple Ann Ellis.
  • Crosby County History Written in 1922 at historictexas.net
  • Book References

Maps

Txcrosby.jpg

Military

Mexican-American War
Civil War

Online Records

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Crosby County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).

Probate

Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.

See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Records


Taxation

Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.

1846-1910 Texas County Tax Rolls lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.

Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.

See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce

Societies and Libraries

Crosby County Historical Society
101 Main Street
Crosbyton 79322
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Crosby County, Texas. Page 662 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Crosby County Courthouse Historical Marker Text, located at the Courthouse. Marker erected 1966.
  4. GenDisasters.com - Estacado, TX Crosby County Courthouse Fire, Oct 1889 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/17667/estacado-tx-crosby-county-courthouse-fire-oct-1889
  5. http://www3.historictexas.net/crosby-county/crosby-county-courthouses