Croxton,Staffordshire

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Staffordshire
Staffordshire Parishes
Croxton


Guide to Croxton,Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Croxton St Paul Staffordshire.jpg

Parish History

Croxton St Paul was formed as an ecclesiastical parish in 1857 from Eccleshall, Staffordshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Croxton St Paul formed 1857 from Eccleshall, Staffordshire  parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[1]  FREG - Search under Eccleshall
CROXTON ST PAUL PARISH (1857) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1857-1992

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1857-2001 Mar 1857-200 Bur 1857-1992
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts None held

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Stone Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 May 2014.