Cuba Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Cuba)
Jump to: navigation, search

Caribbean Gotoarrow.png Cuba

Cuba Wiki Topics
Flag of Cuba.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Cuba Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Cuba ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Country Information

Cuba is an island country in the Caribbean whose nearest neighbors are the United States, the Bahamas, Haiti, and Jamaica. It was formerly a colony of Spain. The official language is Spanish.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Cuba Research

Links to articles on getting started with Cuba research.

Cuba Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Cuba research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Cuba Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Cuba. Provinces of Cuba

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Cuba. Provinces:

  1. Pinar del Río
  2. Artemisa
  3. La Habana (city)
  4. Mayabeque
  5. Matanzas
  6. Cienfuegos
  7. Villa Clara
  8. Sancti Spiritus
  9. Ciego de Avila
  10. Camagüey
  11. Las Tunas
  12. Granma
  13. Holguín
  14. Santiago de Cuba
  15. Guantánamo
  16. Isla de la Juventud

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Cuba," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cuba, accessed 3 May 2016.