Culham, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Culham, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Culham

Guide to Culham, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Culham, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dorchester
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Abingdon
Registration District Abingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1648
Bishop's Transcripts: 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cuddesdon
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

CULHAM, a parish in the district of Abingdon, and counties of Oxford and Berks; on the river Thames, adjacent to the Oxford railway, 1½ mile S by E of Abingdon.[1]

CULHAM (St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Abingdon, hundred of Dorchester, county of Oxford,1 mile (S. S. E.) from Abingdon. [2]

Culham is an Ancient Parish partly in the county of Berkshire but mostly in the county of Oxfordshire. Other places in this parish include Otney Mead. provides a more detailed description of this parish.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Culham, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[4]
Culham, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1721-1875
OFHS 1648-1987

Culham Parish Records begin in 1648. FHL has the following concerning parish records.

Culham Bishop Transcripts begin in 1721. These records were microfilmed and are on FHL Film # 0095237 Items 3-4.

For full listing from the Family History Library check it out here.

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474573.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 746-751. Date accessed: 20 September 2012.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 January 2014.
  4. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.