Cullompton, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Cullompton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Tiverton|
|Parish registers: 1601|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1609|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
CULLOMPTON (St. Andrew), a market-town and parish, in the union of Tiverton, hundred of Hayridge, Cullompton and N. divisions of Devon, 12miles (N. E. by N.) from Exeter, and 166 (W. by S.)from London, and a collegiate church was founded here by one of the Saxon monarchs. There are places of worship for Baptists, Bryanites, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Presbyterian Unitarian
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241313.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Cullompton on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 746-751. Date accessed: 31 December 2012.