Culverthorpe, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Culverthorpe, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Culverthorpe, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Culverthorpe, Lincolnshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aswardhurn
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Heydour
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grantham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1836 - Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Heydour; Post-1835 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Chapelry History

CULVERTHORPE, a chapelry, in the parish of Haydor, union of Sleaford, wapentake of Aswardhurn, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 5½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Sleaford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Culverthorpe events will be found in the Heydour, Lincolnshire parish records.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Culverthorpe

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438757.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Culverthorpe is a township in Heydour

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Heydour/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 746-751. Date accessed: 14 August 2013.