Curry County, New Mexico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Curry County, New Mexico)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Curry County

Guide to Curry County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Curry County, New Mexico
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 25, 1909
County Seat Clovis
Courthouse
NewMexicoCurryCourthouse.jpg
Address 700 N Main Street Ste 7
PO Box 1168
Clovis, NM 88101
Phone: 505.763.5591
Curry County Website


Nm-curry.png

County Information

Curry County, New Mexico Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1905 1910 1903 1909

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1905, land records from 1903, probate records from 1909 and military discharge records from 1919; District Court Clerk has divorce, naturalization and court records.[1]

History

Parent County

This county was created out of a portion of Chaves county, at one time a portion of the vast domain of th county of Lincoln. It is in the heart of the country described by the early Spanish explorer as being as far as the eye could reach a land of "buffalo and sky."

  • Up until 1821New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
  • From 1821 until 1846Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City. Starting in 1846 United States forces occupied New Mexico during the Mexican-American War.
  • 1848 -  Land that became Curry County formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican War ended with ratification of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.

1909--Curry County was created 25 February 1909 from Quay and Roosevelt counties.[1]

Description

Curry County was established in 1909 and named after George Curry, Territorial Governor of New Mexico (1907-1910). Curry County lies on the far eastern side of the state and is adjacent to the state of Texas.[2] The County Seat is Clovis, New Mexico.[3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [4]

Cities
  • Clovis (county seat)
  • Texico
Villages
  • Grady
  • Melrose
Census-designated place
  • Cannon AFB
Unincorporated communities
  • Bellview
  • Broadview
  • Gallaher
  • Pleasant Hill
  • Portair
  • Ranchvale
  • St. Vrain

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NMGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NMGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
NM Cemetery Project
NM Interment
Billion Graves
See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 11,443
1920 11,236 −1.8%
1930 15,809 40.7%
1940 18,159 14.9%
1950 23,351 28.6%
1960 32,691 40.0%
1970 39,517 20.9%
1980 42,019 6.3%
1990 42,207 0.4%
2000 45,044 6.7%
2010 48,376 7.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed. Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Curry County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
World War I
World War II

Newspapers


Obituaries

Obituary Index to local newspapers 1906-2006 USGenWeb Project

Probate

Online Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Taxation

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Births
Deaths
Marriages

Societies and Libraries

Curry County Genealogical Society
Clovis Carver Library
701 Main
Clovis, New Mexico, 88101
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


re St Clovis NM 88101 United States Location Map

    • Clovis, New Mexico

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Curry County, New Mexico page 473, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/newmex/curry/history.html accessed 09/29/2016
  3. http://www.currycounty.org/ accessed 09/29/2016
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Curry_County,_New_Mexico#Communities