Curry County, Oregon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Curry County, Oregon)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Curry County

Guide to Curry County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Curry County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Curry County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 18, 1855
County Seat Gold Beach
Courthouse
Or-curry-ch.jpg
Address Curry County Courthouse
29821 Ellensburg Ave
PO Box 746
Gold Beach, OR 97444
Phone: 541.247.7011
Curry County Website




County Information


Curry County, Oregon Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1856 1860 1856 1856

County Courthouse

County Clerk has land, military and naturalization records from 1916. [1]

Records Held at the Courthouse

  • Record Loss:

Quick Facts

Named for George Law Curry, last Governor of Oregon Territory, 1853-1859.

Parent County

18 December 1855: Created from Coos County. [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Brookings | Gold Beach | Port Orford

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Agness | Carpenterville | Harbor | Langlois | Nesika Beach | Ophir | Pistol River | Sixes | Wedderburn

Neighboring Counties

Coos | Douglas | Josephine | Del Norte County, California

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
ORGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
ORGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
ORGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.

Census

  • 1856 Transcription and index
  • 1860
  • 1870
  • 1880
  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

History

Land and Property

Maps

Orcurry.jpg

Military History and Records

Civil War

Newspapers

Probate Records

Online Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Birth

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Curry Historical Society
29419 Ellensburg Avenue
PO Box 1598
Gold Beach OR 97444
Telephone: 541-247-9396
E-mail:info@curryhistory.com
Website

Curry County Historical Society
920 S Ellensberg Ave
Gold Beach 97444-9705

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Curry County, Oregon page 572, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. WorldCat 50140092FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)