Curry Mallet, Somerset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Curry Mallet, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Curry Mallet, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Curry Mallet, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Abdick and Bulstone
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Langport
Registration District Langport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1682
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Crewkerne
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Taunton
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

CURRY-MALLET, a village and a parish in Langport district, Somerset. The village stands adjacent to the Chard canal, 3½ miles ENE of the Chard and Taunton railway, and 4½ NNW of Ilminster. There is a Baptist chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Curry Mallet, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
MARR = Somerset Marriages (findmypast) - (£)[7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Curry Mallet, Somerset Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1682-1812 1682-1812 1682-1753 1682-1753 1682-1812 1682-1812
FREG 1597-1615, 1682-1900
1597-1615, 1684-1900
1597-1615, 1682-1913
MARR
1597-1837

NBI

1576-1995

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474592.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/CurryMallett/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 17 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1531-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  3. 'Somerset, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  4. 'Somerset, England, Marriage Registers, Bonds and Allegations, 1754-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  5. 'Somerset, England, Church of England Burials, 1813-1914,' Ancestry, accessed 22 July 2016.
  6. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  7. 'Somerset Marriages', findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 30 April 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.