Custer County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Custer County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Custer County
Custer County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Custer County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 17, 1877
County Seat Broken Bow
Courthouse
px
Address Custer County Courthouse
431 S. 10th Ave.
Broken Bow, Nebraska 68822-22099
Phone: 308.872.5701


Custer County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Custer County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877 1880 1877 1877

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth records from 1910, death records from 1915, obituaries from 1877 and pioneer biographical data. County Judge has marriage records from 1878, probate and court records from 1887. Clerk District Court has divorce records from 1881. Register of Deeds has records from 1880. [2]

History

Parent County

1877 Custer County was created 17 February 1877 from unorganized territory. County seat: Broken Bow [3]

Description

Custer County was organized by a legislative act on February 17, 1877 and was named after General George Armstrong Custer.[4]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[5]

Cities
  • Broken Bow
  • Sargent
Villages
  • Anselmo
  • Ansley
  • Arnold
  • Berwyn
  • Callaway
  • Comstock
  • Mason City
  • Merna
  • Oconto
Census-designated place
  • Westerville
Unincorporated communities
  • Cumro
  • Etna
  • Finchville
  • Gates
  • Lillian
  • Lodi
  • Milburn
  • New Helena
  • Round Valley
  • Walworth
  • Weissert
  • Wescott
Townships
  • Algernon
  • Ansley
  • Arnold
  • Berwyn
  • Broken Bow
  • Cliff
  • Comstock
  • Corner
  • Custer
  • Delight
  • Douglas Grove
  • East Custer
  • Elim
  • Elk Creek
  • Garfield
  • Grant
  • Hayes
  • Kilfoil
  • Lillian
  • Loup
  • Milburn
  • Myrtle
  • Ryno
  • Sargent
  • Spring Creek
  • Triumph
  • Victoria
  • Wayne
  • Westerville
  • West Union
  • Wood River

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 2,211
1890 21,677 880.4%
1900 19,758 −8.9%
1910 25,668 29.9%
1920 26,407 2.9%
1930 26,189 −0.8%
1940 22,591 −13.7%
1950 19,170 −15.1%
1960 16,517 −13.8%
1970 14,092 −14.7%
1980 13,877 −1.5%
1990 12,270 −11.6%
2000 11,793 −3.9%
2010 10,939 −7.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Custer County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Custer County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Necuster.png

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Custer - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

  • Custer County Genealogical Society
    255 South 10th
    Broken Bow, NE 68822

Libraries

  • Sargent Public Library
    1015 Avenue E
    Wisner, NE, USA
    Phone: 308-527-4241
    Fax: 308-527-3328
    E-mail sargentlibrary@gmail.com
  • Custer County Judge
    431 S 10th Ave
    Broken Bow, NE 68822, USA
    Phone: 308-872-2121

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Custer County, Nebraska page 429, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/custer/ accessed 09/29/2016
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Custer County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Custer_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.