Cynwyl Elfed, Carmarthenshire Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Cynwyl Elfed, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
CONVIL, or CYNWYL, a parish, in the higher union of the hundred of ELVET, union and county of CARMARTHEN, SOUTH WALES, 6 3/4 miles (N.N.W.) from Carmarthen, on the road to Newcastle. This is a place of great antiquity. Henry, Earl of Richmond, afterwards Henry VI., is supposed to have marched through it, on his way to meet Richard II. The small rivers Bala and Gwili run through this parish; the neighbouring district is comprised of deep dingles and dorsal hills, which converge in a point at this place. A fair is held on November 21st. the church is dedicated to St. Michael. There are two places of worship for Independents, and one each for Baptists and Welsh Calvinistic Methodists. There are various tumuli in the parish, within which also is a mineral spring, strongly impregnated with iron, and formerly held in considerable repute for its efficacy in the cure of certain diseases.
For more information on Cynwyl Elfed see Cynwyl Elfed at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464310.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Cynwyl Elfed at Vision of Britain.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales Adapted. Date accessed: 14 January 2014.