Dallinghoo Wield, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dallinghoo Wield, Suffolk)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Suffolk
Suffolk Parishes
Dallinghoo Wield

Guide to Dallinghoo Wield, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dallinghoo Wield, Suffolk
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wilford
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Woodbridge
Registration District Woodbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History

DALLINGHOE WEALD, was originally created as an extra-parochial chapel residing in the parish of Dallinghoe, in the Woodbridge registration district, Suffolk; and 2½ miles W by S of Wickham-Market. [1]

"Dallinghoo, a village and a parish in Suffolk, 4 miles W from Wickham-Market Junction station on the G.E.R., and 2^ W by S of Wickham Market. There is a post office under Wickham-Market; money order and telegraph office, Wickham-Market. Acreage, 1536 ; population, 260. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Norwich; value, £240. The church is an ancient building of flint and stone, chiefly in the Perpendicular style. Dallinghoe Weald, formerly extra-parochial, is now a parish in Woodbridge district, with an area of 33 acres".[2]
 Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Dallinghoo Weald Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 24 September 2013.
  2. Brabner, John Henry Fryden, The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England and Wales, published: London, 1894-5. Date accessed: 13 March 2013.