Dalston, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dalston, Cumberland)
Jump to: navigation, search

England go to Cumberland go to Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Dalston, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Dalston, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cumberland
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Carlisle
Registration District Carlisle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1589
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Carlisle
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Parish History

DALSTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Carlisle ward, and E. division of the county, of Cumberland in the chapelry of Highhead., 4½ miles (S. S. W.) from Carlisle. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish registers for Dalston, 1570-1909 at the FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Dalston, 1589-1870 at the FHL

Dalston, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[4]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images




PRTs 1570-1678
PRTs 1678-1812
Non-Conformist Churches

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Wesleyan Methodist Association - Church records, 1854-1929 at FHL

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241280.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Dalston on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 25 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.