Dalton near Rotherham, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Dalton near Rotherham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Dalton near Rotherham, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Rotherham|
|Parish registers: 1849|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
DALTON, a township, in the parishes of Rotherham and Thribergh, union of Rotherham, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 3 miles (E.) from Rotherham. It includes the villages of Dalton Magna, Dalton Parva, and Dalton Brook, situated near the road between Rotherham and Thribergh, to which latter parish Dalton Parva belongs.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464283.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted; Date accessed: 16 April 2013.