Dare County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dare County, North Carolina)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png North Carolina Gotoarrow.png Dare County

Guide to Dare County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Dare County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Dare County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1870
County Seat Manteo
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaDareCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Dare Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Dare County, North Carolina Genealogy Government Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Census
Deeds
Wills
1913
1870
1913
1790
1871
1870

Dare County Courthouse
400 Budleigh Street
P O Box 70
Manteo, NC 27954
Phone: 252-473-3438

Registrar of Deed has birth and death records from 1913
marriage records from 1870 and land records
Clerk Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1870[1]

Register of Deeds
PO Box 70
Manteo, NC 27954
Telephone: 252-475-5970
Fax: 252-473-5393
Website

Clerk of Superior Court
PO Box 1849
Manteo, NC 27594
Telephone: (252) 475-5200

History

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Parent County

1870--Dare County was created 3 February 1870 from Currituck, Tyrrell, and Hyde Counties.
County seat: Manteo [2] 

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncdare.png

African American

  • Roanoke Island Freedman's Colony - website dedicated to camp on the island of refugee slaves just after the Civil War. Site includes history, documents, lists of slaves who lived on the island and more.

Bibles

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Dare County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Court

Family Pages

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
War of 1812
  • Jones, Gordon C.: .Abstracts of land-grants, tax lists, orphans dockets, inventories and other records, : Currituck and Dare counties, North Carolina, 1666-1831 Chesapeak, Virginia, G.C.Jones c1982) pages 91 FHL Book 976.6132 P28
Civil War

Online Records

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battles were fought in Dare County:

Map showing Civil War battles in North Carolina.
World War II

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Photographs

Probate

Online Probate Records

Vital Records

Births
Marriages
Divorce
Deaths

Wills & Estates

Societies and Libraries

Albemarle Genealogical Society
142 Waterlily Road
Coinjock, NC 27923
website
Website

Dare Co., NC Organizations & Links

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dade County, North Carolina. Page 508 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 9 August, 2012)
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.