Darlaston All Saints, Staffordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire

Darlaston All Saints.jpg

Parish History

Darlaston All Saints was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1872 from parts of Darlaston, Staffordshire and Wednesbury St Bartholomew, Staffordshire

On the 31st July 1942 it was completely destroyed when a bomb from a German air raid on nearby factories stuck the church building. The parish registers were also destroyed in the raid. A new church was opened on the site in 1952.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Darlaston All Saints suffered 1942 destruction of parish registers when the church was destroyed by bombing.

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1872-1891  Mar none Bur no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office has no holdings of Bishop's Transcripts

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.



Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Walsall Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites