Darlington, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Darlington, Durham)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Darlington, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Darlington, Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Darlington
County Durham
Poor Law Union Darlington
Registration District Darlington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1590
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Darlington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

DARLINGTON (St. Cuthbert), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the S. E. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 18½ miles (S.) from Durham, and 236½ (N. N. W.) from London; comprising the townships of Archdeacon-Newton, Blackwell, Cockerton, and Darlington. A church district named St. John's was endowed in 1845. A district church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was erected in 1838. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists; the Society of Friends; Independents; Primitive, Association, and Wesleyan Methodists; and Roman Catholics.[1] Additional information: Darlington St Cuthbert is an ancient parish. The ancient parish of Darlington included, Archdeacon Newton, Blackwell with Oxenhall or Oxen-le-Field, Cockerton, and Darlington. From witihin the ancient parish six additional parishes were formed in the town, at various periods since 1843, when Darlington Holy Trinity, Durhamwas formed, Darlington St John, Durham to the formation of St. Hilda's in 1889.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/73 August 1762-January1872 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at Record Search. The records at DDR/EA/PBT/2/71 are the burial transcripts of the Darlington Friends 1865-1897.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1590-1981 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Da.SC)

Darlington, Holy Trinity: The registers for the period 1843-1981 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Da.HT).

Darlington, St Hilda: The registers for the period 1888-1985 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Da.SH).

Darlington, St James: The registers for the period 1873-1962 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Da.Ja).

Darlington, St John: The registers for the period 1847-1987 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Da.SJ).

Darlington, St Luke: The registers for the period 1884-1978 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Da.SL).

Darlington, St Paul: The registers for the period 1872-1973 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Da.SP).

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Darlington are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  • Cockerton 1901-1962 (EP/Cok).
    * Darlington, St Columba 1950-1990 (EP/Da.SCo).
    * Darlington, St Herbert 1939-1982 (EP/DaSHe).
    * Darlington, St Matthew 1923-1983 (EPDa.SMa).
Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Darlington, but the exact parish has not been identified: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Presbyterian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241350.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Darlington on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 12 December 2013.