Darton, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Darton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Barnsley|
|Registration District||Barnsley; Wortley|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
DARTON (All Saints), a parish, in the wapentake of Staincross, W. riding of York, 3¼ miles (N. W.)from Barnsley; comprising the townships of Barugh,Darton, and Kexborough. There is a meeting-house for Wesleyans at Blacker, and at Mapplewell are places of worship for those of the New Connexion and for Nonconformists.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Darton, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|DARTON PARISH (1539) Online Records|
List of Chapelry's in this Parish
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Darton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the DARTON PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in1539.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464274.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 8-15. Date accessed: 14 November 2013.
- 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.