Davie County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Davie County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 What's New? At http://www.daviecountync.gov/440/Genealogy-Local-History you can access Davie County newspapers from 1898, read obituaries, and watch historic videos on the county's YouTube Channel. Watch for future items: history of churches, issues of newsletters from Davie County Historical and Genealogical Society (1987-2016), and read biographies of Davie historians. Coming soon to a home computer very near you!
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Records at Davie County Public Library
- 5.2 Cemeteries
- 5.3 Census
- 5.4 Churches
- 5.5 Court
- 5.6 Images
- 5.7 Maps
- 5.8 Military
- 5.9 Newspapers
- 5.10 Probate
- 5.11 Taxation
- 5.12 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
|Davie County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Davie County Courthouse
140 S Main Street
Mocksville, NC 27028
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and burial and land records
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1834
probate records from 1837
Register of Deeds
123 S. Main Street
Mocksville, NC 27028
Clerk of Superior Court
140 S Main St
Mocksville, NC 27028
Telephone: (336) 936-3000
Davie was formed in 1836 from Rowan. It was named in honor of William Richardson Davie, a distinguished Revolutionary soldier, a member of the Federal Convention of 1787, governor of North Carolina, special envoy extraordinary and minister plenipotentiary to France, and one of the founders of the University of North Carolina. It is in the central section of the State and is bounded by Davidson, Rowan, Iredell, Yadkin, and Forsyth counties. The present area is 264 square miles .... In 1837 the court was ordered to be held at Mocksville. Mocksville, incorporated in 1839, is the county seat.
..., beginning at the junction of the North and South Yadkin rivers; thence up the South Yadkin river, to the Iredell county line; and all that part of the present county of Rowan, lying and being north of said river, shall hereafter constitute a separate and distinct county, to be called and known by the name of Davie, in honor of the revolutionary patriot, William R. Davie; ....
In 1925 an act to make certain and define the boundary line between Davie and Forsyth was passed.
That the Yadkin River be and the same is hereby made, fixed and designated as the true and correct boundary line between the counties of Davie and Forsyth.
above quoted from The Formation of the North Carolina Counties 1663-1943, by David Leroy Corbitt; published by NC Department of Cultural Resources; pages 88-89.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- National Register of Historic Places in Davie County
- North Carolina Highways Historical Markers: see following pages
- Daniel Boone's Parents
- John Stokes
- Hinton R. Helper
- Cooleemee Plantation
- Cokesbury School
- Boone Tract
- Hugh T. Lefler
- Table with Latitude/Longitude of National Register of Historic Places and North Carolina Highways Historical Markers
Records at Davie County Public Library
- List of books about Davie County found in the Martin-Wall History Room
- Books for Sale at Davie County Historical & Genealogical Society
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|Cemetery Census, all graves|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing Davie County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Churches in Davie County, North Carolina
- Davie County Churches & Cemeteries
- [1790-1916] Church Records of Rowan, Davie, Iredell and Stanly counties, North Carolina. Record of Baptist, Lutheran & Methodists. Originals at Rowan Public Library. FHL US/CAN Film 313,885.
- Dutchman's Creek. Established by 1773.
- Bear Creek
- [1792-1860] Bear Creek Baptist Church Minutes. Available at North Carolina Libraries and Archives in Raleigh.
- [1859-1963] Bear Creek Baptist Church (Mocksville, N.C.) records. Available at Z. Smith Reynolds Library Special Collections and Archives. Wake Forest University.
- Guardian Accounts, Davie County, 1846 through 1859
- Apprentice Bonds, Davie County, 1829 through 1859
- Davie County USGenWeb Archives - Court Records
Land records are at the courthouse annex across the street from the courthouse on Main Street in Mocksville.
The First 3 books can be ordered from theDavie County Historical & Genealogical Society:
- Davie County: A Brief History by James W. Wall
- Davie County Heritage
- The Historic Architecture of Davie County by Kirk Franklin Mohney, indexed by surname
- Davie County Biographies-USGenWeb Archives
- Davie County Bible Records- USGenWeb Archives
- For sale from the Davie County Historical & Genealogical Society:
- Hughes Historical
- 1887 Alderman
- 1923 Merrell
- Lagle Land Grant
- Communities in Davie County are listed in the Local History Directory, Pgs. 7-8
- Maps for Davie County from the UNC Digital Map Collection
- Davie County USGenWeb Archives Military Pages
- The War Memorial on the Square pays tribute to those who died in Civil War, World War I, Vietnam War, World War II, Korean War, and the Beirut bombing. It was dedicated November 7, 1987. Book: Davie County Veterans' Memorial
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — images
The Civil War Roster of Davie County, North Carolina, by Mary Alice Miller Hasty and Hazel Miller Winfree has just been published by McFarland.
This book contains family history, military history, and burial places for 1,147 men who served in the Confederate Army.
To order, North Carolina residents should send $64.26, and non-residents of NC send $60.00 (includes tax and shipping), to M and M Books, 105 East Brick Walk Court, Mocksville NC 27028.
Regiments. Service men in Davie County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Davie County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- -4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- - 13th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry formerly the 3rd Volunteers., Company F
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Detailed Men, Company B
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company G
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company A
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company H
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company F
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Book: Davie County in World War One
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Davie Record, 1899 - 1956
- Mocksville Herald, January 4, 1912 - December 26, 1912
- Mocksville Enterprise, January 5, 1922 - March 27, 1924
- Davie County Enterprise-Record, 1922 - present
- Cooleemee: Erwin Chatter Nov 1944 - March 1954; Cooleemee Journal July 1, 1965 - June 27, 1971
These newspapers can be searched on microfilm at the Davie County Public Library History Room.
Davie Record and Mocksville Enterprise can be searched online. Click on "Newspaper Files".
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $]
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and ima
- 1837 - 1967 - Will Books 1 to 5 (1837-1967) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- See Web Site below for Family History Library Catalog.
- The Davie County Register of Deeds has copies of Birth & Death certificates starting from 1913; there are copies of Marriage Records from 1836. Downloadable forms for ordering can be viewed Here
Davie County Register of Deeds
123 South Main Street
Mocksville, NC 27028
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1851 - 1935 - Davies County Marriage Index 1851-1935 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
Societies and Libraries
Davie County Historical and Genealogical Society
371 N. Main St.
Mocksville, NC 27038
- Davie County Historical and Genealogical Society meets the fourth Thursday of each month (except December) at 7 pm in the History Room of Davie County Public Library, 371 North Main Street, Mocksville, North Carolina 27028. This web site describes the organization, dues, items for sale, quarterly newsletters and programs.
- Davie County Public Library History Room is available for your use. See street address above.
- Cooleemee Historical Association, 14 Church Street, Cooleemee, North Carolina has a museum depicting the history of this cotton mill town. See also Cooleemee Preservation Efforts.
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Davie County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- Davie County NCGenWeb for Davie County
- Davie County Historical and Genealogical Society.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Davie County government Web site
- Davie County USGenWeb Archives
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Davie County, North Carolina. Page 508 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:476. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.