Dawes County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Dawes County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Dawes County

Dawes County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19



Dawes County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Dawes County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 19, 1885
County Seat Chadron
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Dawes County Courthouse
451 Main Street
Chadron, Nebraska 69337-2649
Phone: 308.432.0100


County Information

Dawes County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1886 1890 1885 1885

County Courthouse

Dawes County Courthouse;
451 Main St; Chadron
NE 69337-2649
Phone: 308.432.0100

County Clerk has land records from 1880.
County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records. [2]

History

Parent County

1860--Dawes County was created 19 February 1885 from Sioux County. County seat: Chadron [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[4]

Cities
  • Chadron (county seat)
  • Crawford
Village
  • Whitney
Unincorporated communities
  • Bordeaux
  • Dakota Junction
  • Horn
  • Marsland
  • Pine Ridge
Ghost town
  • Belmont

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 9,722
1900 6,215 −36.1%
1910 8,254 32.8%
1920 10,160 23.1%
1930 11,493 13.1%
1940 10,128 −11.9%
1950 9,708 −4.1%
1960 9,536 −1.8%
1970 9,761 2.4%
1980 9,609 −1.6%
1990 9,021 −6.1%
2000 9,060 0.4%
2010 9,182 1.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Dawes County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.


Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Dawes County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nedawes.png

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Dawes County, Nebraska Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Dawes - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

  • Crawford Historical Society
    Crawford Historical Museum
    337 Second St
    Mailing address: PO Box 165
    Crawford, NE 69339-0165
    Phone: 308-665-1732; 308-665-2350 Appointments

Nebraska Historical & Genealogical Societies

  • Nebraska Military Historical Society
    1330 N. Burlington Ave.
    P.O. Box 1286
    Hastings 68901-1286
  • Nebraska Jewish Historical Society
    333 S. 132nd St.
    Omaha, NE
    68154
    Phone: 402-334-6442
  • North Central Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 362
    O’Neill NE 68763
  • Northeastern Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 169
    Lyons NE 68038
  • Northern Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 362
    O’Neill NE
    68763
  • Northwest Nebraska Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 6
    Alliance, Nebraska 69301

Libraries

  • Chadron Public Library
    507 Bordeaux St
    Chadron, NE 69337-2696
    Phone: 308-432-0531; 308-432-0534 Fax
    email: deweycpl@echadron.net

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 452-465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Dawes County, Nebraska page 429, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Dawes County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dawes_County,_Nebraska, accessed 29 July 2016.