De Baca County, New Mexico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from De Baca County, New Mexico)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png De Baca County

Guide to De Baca County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


De Baca County, New Mexico
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Founded February 28, 1917
County Seat Fort Sumner
Address De Baca County Courthouse
514 Ave C
PO Box 347
Fort Sumner, NM 88119-0347
Phone: 505.355.2601
De Baca County Website


County Information

De Baca County, New Mexico Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1917 1920 1917 1917

County Courthouse

De Baca County Courthouse
514 Ave C; PO Box 347;
Fort Sumner, NM 88119-0347
Phone: 505.355.2601 

County Clerk has marriage, probate, and land records from 1917; District Court Clerk has divorce records; Magistrate Judge has court records.[1]


Parent County

  • Up until 1821New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
  • From 1821 until 1846Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City. Starting in 1846 United States forces occupied New Mexico during the Mexican-American War.
  • 1848 -  Land that became De Baca County formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended with ratification of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.


De Baca County was created February 28, 1917 from Guadalupe, Chaves, and Roosevelt counties. Named for Ezequiel Cabeza de Baca, the second governor of New Mexico. As of the 2010 census, the population was 2,022, making it the second-least populous county in New Mexico. The county seat is Fort Sumner, NM.[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.


Populated Places [3]

  • Fort Sumner (county seat)
=Census-designated place
  • Lake Sumner
Unincorporated communities
  • Agudo
  • Buchanon
  • Canton
  • Cardenas
  • Dunlap
  • Evanola
  • Ingleville
  • La Lande
  • Largo
  • Ricardo
  • Taiban
  • Tolar
  • Yeso

Neighboring Counties



Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county Family History Library
NMGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NMGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
NM Interment
Billion Graves
See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information.


Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1920 3,196
1930 2,893 −9.5%
1940 3,725 28.8%
1950 3,464 −7.0%
1960 2,991 −13.7%
1970 2,547 −14.8%
1980 2,454 −3.7%
1990 2,252 −8.2%
2000 2,240 −0.5%
2010 2,022 −9.7%
Source: "".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.


Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.



Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for De Baca County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.




Revolutionary War
Civil War
World War I
World War II



Online Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.


New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records


Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), De Baca County, New Mexico page 473, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. accessed 09/29/2016