Deeping Fen, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Deeping Fen, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Deeping Fen

Guide to Deeping Fen, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Deeping Fen, Lincolnshire
St Nicholas Deeping St Nicholas Lincolnshire.jpg
St Nicholas Deeping St Nicholas Lincolnshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elloe; Ness
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Spalding
Registration District Bourn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1850
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Extra-Parochial History

DEEPING-FEN, was originally an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Peterborough, wapentake of Elloe, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln, 6 miles (S. W.) from Spalding. [1]

In 1845 the ecclesisatical parish of Deeping St Nicholas was formed and the civil parish was formed in 1856.

The church of St Nicholas was built in 1845 by Charles Kirk of Sleaford and has been designated a grade II listed building by English Heritage Search listed building
 

Resources

Civil Registration

Prior to 1862 the extra parochial area was in the Bourne registration district; later it was part of the Deeping St Nicholas sub-district of Spalding registration district. Search registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Deeping St Nicholas Par 1 will identify available images.


Search Family FamilySearch CatalogueDeeping Fen

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438752.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Spalding Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/DeepingFen/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 23-28. Date accessed: 14 August 2013.